The Egde Details U2’s New Direction

Since U2’s 2017 album ‘Songs Of Experience,’ fans have been waiting for a new release from the band. Not long ago, U2 announced that they are re-interpreting 40 of their songs for a new album titled ‘Songs Of Surrender.’ To give more details about the album and U2’s new direction, The Edge shared a post on his Instagram.

“What started as an experiment quickly became a personal obsession,” The Edge confessed, “as so many early U2 songs yielded a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post-punk urgency. New keys. New chords. New tempos and new lyrics arrived. It turns out that a great song is indestructible.”

Revealing how this re-recording process affected each of them, he continued, “Once we surrendered our reverence for the original version, each song started to open up to a new authentic voice of this time, of the people we are, and particularly the singer Bono has become. I hope you like our new direction.”

Photo Credit: The Edge – Instagram

Songs Of Surrender’ will feature 40 songs organized into four albums, each named after one of the band members. In his Instagram post, The Edge also shared the tracklist with each member’s handwriting. Except for 1981’s ‘October’ and 2009’s ‘No Line On The Horizon,’ all albums from U2’s career are represented in the new record.

According to the rocker, the reimagination of those songs brought a new perspective to U2, especially Bono, who released his memoir ‘Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story’ in November 2022. ‘Songs Of Surrender’ is meant to complement this book, and it’s set to arrive on March 17.