Oasis’ Liam Gallagher Announces A New Supergroup

Former Oasis icon Liam Gallagher recently took to his Twitter to announce that he is now working on forming a new supergroup.

Liam Gallagher achieved fame as the frontman of Oasis between the years 1991 and 2009. When Britpop lost its popularity, Oasis couldn’t revive it despite its successful music career. Besides, Liam Gallagher and his brother Noel Gallagher had clashing opinions about the band’s future, so Noel eventually left Oasis in August 2009.

Due to these factors, Liam and the remaining members went on to form Beady Eye and worked together until 2014. Now, Gallagher continues to work as a solo musician since his decision to pursue a solo music career in 2017.

After Liam Gallagher embarked on a solo music career, he released his critically and commercially successful solo debut titled ‘As You Were.’ Although he enjoyed success as a solo artist, Gallagher told Consequence Of Sound the same year that he would prefer to be in a supergroup with The Stone Roses and Richard Ashcroft.

Here is what Liam Gallagher told Consequence Of Sound in 2017:

“Anyone who would be in a supergroup or have anything to do with a supergroup are all solo. There are far too many solo stars out there for my liking and not enough bands. I’m doing this cause I have to. I’d much prefer to be in a band.

The ideal ones would be the guys out of The Stone Roses. I think they just split up, so that would be good. Richard Ashcroft would be good. There are many people out there, but most of them are doing their own thing. But, if they want to do one, give us a shout. I’ll do it.”

Recently, Liam Gallagher surprised his fans by announcing on Twitter that he is forming a new supergroup with The Stone Roses guitarist John Squire. He then posted another tweet after this announcement, revealing this project is just for fun, and there isn’t any pressure bothering them.

The first Liam Gallagher tweet read:

Supergroup incoming, LG JS.”

He then posted another tweet:

“No pressure, just fun.”

You can check out the tweets below.