Metallica Shares Miley Cyrus’ ‘Nothing Else Matters’ Cover


On their official Twitter account, thrash metal legend Metallica shared the video of star-studded rendition of ‘Nothing Else Matters’ covered by the pop music icon Miley Cyrus which also features Elton John, Andrew Watt, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, and Chad Smith.

One of the most popular songs of metal music history, ‘Nothing Else Matters,’ was released in Metallica’s iconic fifth studio album, ‘Metallica,’ also known as ‘The Black Album,’ in 1991. The album also included the band’s best-known songs such as ‘Enter Sandman,’ ‘The Unforgiven,’ and ‘Sad but True.’

Previously, Metallica hinted at a new project that they have been working on which was apparently related to the iconic ‘Black Album.’ As this year marked the 30th anniversary of the album, Metallica commemorated one of their best works by announcing the upcoming release of the ‘Black Album’ reissue. The band further revealed that they have collaborated with various artists that they called ‘The Metallica Blacklist’ who will be covering some of the Metallica songs.

Following their announcement regarding the ‘Black Album’ reissue, Metallica shared a sneak peek video of the pop star Miley Cyrus’s cover of ‘Nothing Else Matters.’ Cyrus’s cover also featured the famous producer Andrew Watt, cellist Yo-Yo Ma, Elton John, Metallica bassist Rob Trujillo, and Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith.

The official announcement reads:

“Check out your first sneak peek of the Metallica Blacklist with a  star-studded rendition of ‘Nothing Else Matters’ by Miley Cyrus featuring Andrew Watt, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, and Chad Smith.”

Metallica’s thrilling new project, ‘The Metallica Blacklist,’ will include more than 50 other artists who join the band to commemorate the iconic ‘Black Album.’ The box set will be available in various formats including digital, four-CD, and a limited-edition seven-LP vinyl pressing.

The tracklist for The Metallica Blacklist is as follows:

  1. Enter Sandman – Alessia Cara & The Warning
  2. Enter Sandman – Mac DeMarco
  3. Enter Sandman – Ghost
  4. Enter Sandman – Juanes
  5. Enter Sandman – Rina Sawayama
  6. Enter Sandman – Weezer
  7. Sad But True (Live) – Sam Fender
  8. Sad But True – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  9. Sad But True – Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX
  10. Sad But True – Royal Blood
  11. Sad But True – St. Vincent
  12. Sad But True – White Reaper
  13. Sad But True – YB
  14. Holier Than Thou – Biffy Clyro
  15. Holier Than Thou – The Chats
  16. Holier Than Thou – OFF!
  17. Holier Than Thou – PUP
  18. Holier Than Thou – Corey Taylor
  19. The Unforgiven – Cage The Elephant
  20. The Unforgiven – Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police
  21. The Unforgiven – Diet Cig
  22. The Unforgiven – Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch
  23. The Unforgiven – Ha*Ash
  24. The Unforgiven – José Madero
  25. The Unforgiven – Moses Sumney
  26. Wherever I May Roam – J Balvin
  27. Wherever I May Roam – Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee
  28. Wherever I May Roam – The Neptunes
  29. Wherever I May Roam – Jon Pardi
  30. Don’t Tread on Else Matters – SebastiAn
  31. Don’t Tread on Me – Portugal. The Man
  32. Don’t Tread on Me – Volbeat
  33. Through the Never – The HU
  34. Through the Never – Tomi Owó
  35. Nothing Else Matters – Phoebe Bridgers
  36. Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith
  37. Nothing Else Matters – Dave Gahan
  38. Nothing Else Matters – Mickey Guyton
  39. Nothing Else Matters – Dermot Kennedy
  40. Nothing Else Matters – Mon Laferte
  41. Nothing Else Matters – Igor Levit
  42. Nothing Else Matters – My Morning Jacket
  43. Nothing Else Matters – PG Roxette
  44. Nothing Else Matters – Darius Rucker
  45. Nothing Else Matters – Chris Stapleton
  46. Nothing Else Matters – TRESOR
  47. Of Wolf and Man – Goodnight, Texas
  48. The God That Failed – IDLES
  49. The God That Failed – Imelda May
  50. My Friend of Misery – Cherry Glazerr
  51. My Friend of Misery – Izïa
  52. My Friend of Misery – Kamasi Washington
  53. The Struggle Within – Rodrigo y Gabriela

You can see the tweet and the music video of the ‘Nothing Else Matters’ cover on Youtube below.